Alfio’s Italian Restaurant

Until today I’d actually never heard of Alfio’s. I guess usually when I go to dinner it’s somewhere in central Geelong or closer to my side of town. Alfio’s is in Newcomb, nestled behind the big Video store on Bellarine Highway (Just past Mc Donald’s and KFC). It was suggested by a family member, and always keen to give new things a try, off we went!

I’m not sure how busy the restaurant gets, but it is quite big and can seat a large number of people. The tables are spaced fairly far apart, so there’s no need for squeezing inbetween seats, and the tables are big – which is excellent if you’re ordering a few pizzas. I’ve noticed at places like Town and Country Pizza the tables are quite small and it can be a big of a hassle when you’ve got a few pizza trays, plates and drinks all fighting for space.

The menu at Alfio’s was a little different to what I’ve seen at other Italian restaurants. Sure they have pizza and pasta, but I’ve never seen a seafood antipasto until today (there’s also the option of ordering a regular antipasto) and I was glad to see baby octopus on the menu in a couple of different forms. The only other Italian place that I’ve been to in Geelong that serves baby optopus is Pizza Land. The antipasto is meant to serve two people an an entree, but we shared it amongst five people without a problem and we also had some garlic pizza on the side. I was really impressed with the antipasto and I haven’t been able to stop talking about it. The seafood was freshly cooked and placed on top of a salad. The only thing I wasn’t that impressed with were the mussels (I think they might have been New Zealand mussels, but don’t quote me on that), everything else was great – large prawns, baby octopus, scallops (small, but tasty) and large pieces of calamari. I’d consider going back and ordering this dish as my main meal.

The best way to judge an Italian place has to be by the pizza (and tiramisu, but we’ll get to that shortly), so of course we ordered a pizza and one of us had a lasagne, which I’m told tasted great and had pieces of egg inside. Everyone at the table loved the pizza – the Aussie was the “best Aussie in a while”, and the vegetarian pizza was definitely up there – nothing fancy schmancy – just a good old-fashioned vegetarian pizza.

Now, onto the tiramisu… One thing I don’t think I’ve mentioned before is that I bake… a lot. Cakes, slices, bread… everything. Which also means I’ve tried my fair share of cakes, and which means my family has also tried their fair share of cakes. Tiramisu can be a tricky thing to get right and often the flavours aren’t quite right. Very tempted by the tiramisu our table ordered one to try, and two minutes later we had another two on their way. I’d say it made it into the top three for me.

When we got our bill we thought it seemed quite expensive, but we did have entree, mains and dessert for five people and shrugged it off. After we paid the owner came over and explained there had been a mistake and sorted it out quickly. We were thankful for the honesty.

Alfio’s is BYO wine and licensed too with beer, wine, spirits and some cocktails on the menu. It was apparently also the first restaurant in Geelong to serve pizza which tells me it’s been around for a while and is obviously doing everything right.

Details:

Alfio’s Italian Restaurant

Shop 5, 163 Bellarine Hwy, Newcomb

Open: Tuesday-Sunday dinner
Thursday-Sunday lunch

Alfio's Italian Restaurant & Pizza Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

