Hahndorf’s Fine Chocolates

I frequently drive along Pakington Street, but rarely stop for a coffee or a quick bite to eat. I’m not too sure what I was looking for on this particular day, but I found myself walking into a chocolate shop, a few doors down from Rixon’s (River end), a pub and a couple of bakeries.

Hahndorf's on Pakington St

The store is a cross between a chocolate specialty shop and a cafe, with benches and stands full of chocolate goodies placed close to the tables and chairs. On these benches you’ll find things like licorice bullets, chocolate coated jelly raspberries and much more. I was surprised to see so much variety on offer.
If you wander towards the back of the store, you’ll see baked treats on offer, in addition to individual chocolates that are available, with no minimum purchase.

I ended up walking out with the following chocolates…

Selection of Hahndorf's chocolates

Left to Right -> Sticky Date, Devonshire Tea, Peanut Butter Cup, Lavender Heart.

I’m quite fussy with chocolate, having made my own and won’t settle for anything even average, so was eager to give these chocolates a go. The Sticky Date chocolate tasted of a good caramel, which reminded me of sticky date pudding sauce. Devonshire Tea was extremely creamy tasting. I was expecting more of a tea flavour that I’ve had in chocolates before, but really enjoyed the creaminess of this chocolate.  The Peanut Butter Cup was indeed peanutty, but not peanut buttery – as it should have been. It doesn’t compare to a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup at all. I’d feel a lot better about this chocolate if they had called it a Peanut Cup, because it definitely delivers on the peanut flavour. The Lavender Heart had a light lavender flavour, which could have been made slightly stronger. Definitely an unusual flavour, but it wasn’t unpleasant.

The chocolates are good quality and melt well in the mouth. I paid about $5 for four chocolates, which I consider a good price for handmade chocolate.

I’m not sure how popular this store is, as I’ve never had a good look when driving past. There was only one table of customers when I was in the store, with another customer waiting on an order at the back of the store. I’d like to go back and buy some packaged lollies, such as the licorice bullets and see how the chocolate compares to the handmade chocolates I purchased. Some companies tend to concentrate more on quality of their chocolates produced in smaller quantities, and aren’t as focused on the quality of larger batches.

If you’re thinking of buying chocolates for a gift, come and see what’s on offer. There seems to be more variety in the handmade chocolate here than what’s on offer at The Chocolate Room, a few minutes down the road. Chocolate lovers are sure to like the chocolate sold here.

Details:
Hahndorf’s Fine Chocolates

354 Pakington St, Newtown.

Open 7 days a week.
Monday – Saturday 9am – 6pm
Sunday 10am – 5pm


Leave a Reply

