True Spice Supermarket

I drove down Moorabool Street a few nights ago and saw a new store called ‘True Spice’. I ended up going there the next day and having a look at what was on offer. I think it’s occupying the shoe outlet that has now moved across the road.

I’m only aware of one other Indian grocer in Geelong, and that one is in Little Malop Street. I haven’t been down that street in a long time, so I’m not sure if that store is still operating from that location or not.

I was quite excited by the size of this new store, and was amazed by the selection of pickles and chutneys.

This is just a small part of the shelf of the pickles and chutneys for sale.

Down the back of the store there is a wall filled with spice mixes for different Indian dishes, eg: Vegetable Biryani, Channa Masala, etc. On the back of the packet is a recipe for using your spice mix. They’re generally fairly easy to make, with many requiring garlic, onions, ginger and tomatoes. I grabbed a couple of the spice mixes to have for dinner in the coming week. I guess you could compare it to something like a Kantong sauce (except these are powders) where you have to still add your own vegetables, fish, etc. to create the dish.

The middle aisle contained lots of different types of flours and rice. I hadn’t heard of most of the types of rice, but would like to give some of it a go oneday to see how it compares to rice that I usually buy. I’m a little sick of white rice and the moment and instead I’ve been eating lots of brown and red rice.

This store would be fantastic for buying rice and spices in bulk. There’s an unbelievable amount of pre-packaged spices for sale, ranging from your common spices such as cinnamon, fennel seeds and cardamom, to things like nigella seeds and white poppyseed. Definitely somewhere to go when your local supermarket doesn’t have the spices you need. The store also has a fridge and freezer section with a big selection of Indian drinks, in addition to paneer and pre-made naan.

My only complaint about this store is that there aren’t enough Indian sweets for sale. I wonder if this is something that they will improve on at all – I certainly hope so. At the moment the selection is tiny – pretty much galub jamon and soan papdi only.

I was impressed by the prices. Chutneys were around $2-4 and the spice mixes about $2-3. I’ll definitely be going back to stock up on some more Indian food and perhaps get experimental with some rice.

Details:

True Spice

140 Moorabool St, Geelong.

3 responses to “True Spice Supermarket

  1. If you go to True Spice, make sure you try out the Indian Twisties! They are called Kurkuture (I think), and have heaps of flavours (my favourite is Green Chilli Chatka, but Marsala Munch are great too. The tomato ones are not so good). Keep in mind that you will need beer to go with them – they are spicy, but not spicy enough to stop you eating the whole bag!

  2. I hate packet food, but you can’t go past these boxes – no preservatives etc and good rich sauces. Great for a stay at home takeaway curry or camping. And the woman who works there is lovely too.

  3. Thanks for posting this! My mum loves Indian food, so I went in and bought her a whole heap of the heat and serve over rice dishes that come in the boxes, 5 for $10.

    The man who served me was lovely, too. Very cheery and helpful!

Leave a Reply

